

## Suntory Music Award Awardees

Suntory Foundation for the Arts

## **Suntory Music Award**

Awardees					
1st	1969	Michio KOBAYASHI	piano, cembalo, conduct		
2nd	1970	Tsuyoshi TSUTSUMI	cello		
3rd	1971	Reiji MITANI	opera production		
4th	1972	Takashi OGAWA	librarian, theory and critic		
5th	1973	Organ Committee of International Christian University			
6th	1974	Kazuyoshi AKIYAMA	conduct		
7th	1975	Yoshinobu KURIBAYASHI	tenor		
		Ginji YAMANE	critic		
8th	1976	Yasushi AKUTAGAWA and The New Symphony Orchestra			
9th	1977	Toshiko TSUNEMORI	soprano		
10th	1978	Teizo MATSUMURA	composition		
11th	1979	Sumire YOSHIHARA	percussion		
12th	1980	Kappa SENOH	set and costume design		
		<pre><special prize=""> Hideo EDO</special></pre>	chairman of the first Japan Music Competition		
13th	1981	Minao SHIBATA	composition		
14th	1982	Yuzo TOYAMA	conduct		
		<special prize=""> Kiyoshi HARA</special>	construction of The Symphony Hall in Osaka		
15th	1983	Keisuke SUZUKI	opera production		
16th	1984	Kiyomi TOYODA	soprano		
17th	1985	Telemann Institute Japan			
18th	1986	Mitsuko UCHIDA	piano		
		Hiroshi WAKASUGI	conduct		
19th	1987	Hiroyuki IWAKI	conduct		
20th	1988	Yasuko HAYASHI	soprano		
21st	1989	Masahiro ARITA	flauto traverso, conduct		
22nd	1990	Toru TAKEMITSU	composition		
23rd	1991	Tadaaki OTAKA	conduct		
24th	1992	Shigeo NERIKI	piano		
25th	1993	Midori GOTO	violin		
		<pre><special prize=""> Wolfgang Sawallisch</special></pre>	conduct		
26th	1994	Takayoshi WANAMI	violin		
27th	1995	Nobuko IMAI	viola		

## **Suntory Music Award**

Awardees					
28th	1996	Takahiro SONODA	piano		
		Joji YUASA	composition		
29th	1997	The Tokyo Symphony Orchestra			
30th	1998	Hikaru HAYASHI	composition		
31st	1999	Akira MIYOSHI	composition		
32nd	2000	Taijiro IIMORI	conduct		
33rd	2001	Toshi ICHIYANAGI	composition		
34th	2002	Seiji OZAWA	conduct		
		Kaori KIMURA	piano		
35th	2003	Ichiro NODAIRA	piano, composition		
36th	2004	Akira NISHIMURA	composition		
37th	2005	Hidemi SUZUKI	cello, conduct		
38th	2006	Tokyo Philharmonic Chorus			
39th	2007	Toshio HOSOKAWA	composition		
40th	2008	Yumi KOYAMA	mezzo soprano		
41st	2009	Kazushi ONO	conduct		
42nd	2010	Yoshio WATANABE	cembalo		
43rd	2011				
44th	2012	Mihoko FUJIMURA	mezzo soprano		
45th	2013	Masaaki SUZUKI and Bach Collegium Japan			
46th	2014	Junichi HIROKAMI and Kyoto Symphony Orchestra			
47th	2015	Toppan Hall			
48th	2016	Yu Kosuge	piano		
49th	2017	Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra			
50th	2018	Ken Takaseki	conduct		

Special Award in memory				
June 1979	Mari IWAMOTO String Quartet			
August 1997	Toshiro MAYUZUMI	composition		