For press

Press Contact

Public Relations Department

  • This email is only for press & media enquiries. Please clarify the name of your company or media for your enquiry. For any other enquiries, access this link.


No.she040November 9, 2023

Suntory Hall Chamber Music Academy Special Concert
HONO Quartet
Prizewinner of the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition 2023

On December 19, 2023, Suntory Hall will present a special concert featuring the HONO Quartet at the Blue Rose (Small Hall), marking their success at the prestigious Osaka International Chamber Music Competition & Festa held in May 2023. The HONO Quartet was awarded the Second Prize and the Ambassador Award in the string quartet category of the competition: the highest honour awarded to a Japanese quartet since Quartet Excelsior in 1996.

HONO Quartet was formed in 2018 by four students of the Tokyo University of the Arts – violinists Honoka Kishimoto and Shuga Hayashi, violist Kenshi Nagata, and cellist Yoshiyuki Kanie. They rapidly achieved success in several national competitions, and since September 2022 they have been furthering their studies as the fellow of the Suntory Hall Chamber Music Academy, while also advancing their individual careers as soloists or orchestral musicians.

The programme will feature Beethoven’s String Quartet Op. 127 in E-flat Major, one of his late masterpieces which HONO Quartet played in the final round of the Osaka competition and have since explored further. This will be preceded by a jovial quartet by Haydn and Mendelssohn’s emotional and lyrical E Minor quartet. It is a programme that will display the group’s stylistic versatility and expressive range. It is a great pleasure to present this special concert showcasing this young and fast-rising talent from Japan.

Tuesday, December 19, 19:00
Suntory Hall, Blue Rose (Small Hall)

HONO Quartet, String Quartet
* Suntory Hall Chamber Music Academy Fellow
Honoka Kishimoto, Violin
Shuga Hayashi, Violin
Kenshi Nagata, Viola
Yoshiyuki Kanie, Cello

Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in E-flat Major, Hob. III:38, “The Joke”
Felix Mendelssohn: String Quartet No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 44, No. 2
Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 12 in E-flat Major, Op. 127

More details can be found at the following:

For further information and press photos, please contact:
Public Relations, Suntory Hall